“At nearly 200 years old, it’s the grande dame of British conservatoires, but the Royal Academy of Music is surprisingly forward-thinking”
Pianist Magazine

Ruth Jenkins wins Pavarotti Prize

Friday, September 23, 2011
Ruth Jenkins wins Pavarotti Prize

Soprano Ruth Jenkins won last night’s Pavarotti Prize with a rendition of Stravinsky’s ‘No word from Tom... I go, I go to him’ from The Rake’s Progress and Handel’s ‘Da tempeste’, from Giulio Cesare.

The competition, inaugurated with the guidance and support of Joseph Karaviotis (pictured above, with Ruth) in 2008, is open to all second-year Royal Academy Opera students, who must perform two constrasting pieces from mainstream operatic repertoire to a panel of expert judges. The winner receives £5,000.

This year’s judges were James Conway, Bryan Evans, Jane Glover, Glenville Hargreaves, Sarah Holford, Jean Rigby, Joseph Karaviotis and Mark Wildman.

Previous winners have gone on to perform at Wigmore Hall, with English National Opera, on BBC Radio 3, and in the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Competition.

  • back