“At nearly 200 years old, it’s the grande dame of British conservatoires, but the Royal Academy of Music is surprisingly forward-thinking”
Pianist Magazine

Masaaki Suzuki awarded Bach Prize

Friday, January 20, 2012
Masaaki Suzuki awarded Bach Prize

Masaaki Suzuki has been announced as the 2012 winner of the Royal Academy of Music Bach Prize, supported by the Kohn Foundation.

Masaaki is the founder and director of Bach Collegium Japan. He is close to completion of his series of recordings of the complete Bach cantatas and is also a renowned harpsichordist and chamber musician.

Masaaki will perform with Academy students and receive his prize in 2013, within the fifth year of our own Cantata Series.

The previous winners of the Bach Prize, which is worth £10,000, are Professor Christoph Wolff (2006), András Schiff (2007), Sir John Eliot Gardiner (2008), Peter Schreier (2009),  Professor John Butt (2010) and The Thomanerchor (2011).

Picture credit: Marco Borggreve

  • back