The Governing Body’s main responsibilities include approving the mission and strategic vision of the Academy and acting as its principal financial, business and legal authority.

You can read more about the responsibilities of the Governing Body here:


Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II


HRH The Duchess of Gloucester GCVO, Hon FRAM


Lord Burns GCB, Hon FRAM
Sir Elton John CH, CBE, Hon RAM
Sir Curtis Price KBE, Hon RAM

Members of the Governing Body (Trustees)

Dame Jenny Abramsky DBE, Hon RAM (Chair)
Dame Susie Sainsbury DBE, Hon FRAM, FSA (Deputy Chair)
The Rt Hon Lord Sumption OBE, PC, FSA, FRHistS, Hon FRAM (Deputy Chair)
Lord Blackwell
John Burgess Hon FRAM
Robin Butler Hon FRAM (retired 31 July 2023)
Ina De
Alexis Ffrench
Hamish Forsyth (appointed 1 September 2023)
Rehmet Kassim-Lakha
Luke Lloyd-Davies
Timothy Parker
Irem Tuna
Duchess of Wellington OBE Hon FRAM
William de Winton
Damian Wisniewski BSc (Eng), ACGI, LRAM, ACA

Elected Members of Governing Body

Margaret Faultless (Academic Staff)
Barbara Law (Academic Staff)
Gemma Waring (Administrative Staff)
Tiffany Qiu (Student Union President) appointed 1 September 2023
Shona Masson (Student Union President) (retired 31 July 2023)


Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood CBE, BMus, MPhil, Hon RAM, FKC, FRNCM, FRCM

Senior Management Team

Professor Timothy Jones MA, DPhil, LTCL, Hon RAM (Deputy Principal)
Kirsty MacDonald BA, MA (Oxon), Hon FRAM (Deputy Principal (Advancement))
Karen Di Lorenzo (Director of Finance) MBA, MA Cantab, ACMA (Director of Finance)
Professor Elizabeth Kenny
MA, FRAM (Dean of Students)
Catherine Jury BA, Hon RAM (Registrar and Director of Student Operations)

Secretary to the Governing Body

Sandra Green Hon ARAM