University of London Professors are conferred, through an open application process, upon distinguished members of staff who have exhibited outstanding and innovative work in areas of performance, teaching, scholarship and leadership. Each will also have shown how their work has had a significant and broad impact on the life and reputation of the Academy, nationally and internationally.

Professor Daniel Bowling, Head of Musical Theatre

Professor Mark David, Head of Brass

Professor Sian Edwards, Head of Conducting

Professor David Gorton, Senior Postgraduate Tutor and Associate Head of Research

Professor Helen Grime MBE, Professor of Composition

Professor Brenda Hurley, Head of Opera

Professor Kate Paterson, Head of Vocal Studies

Professor Daniel-Ben Pienaar, Curzon Lecturer in Performance Studies

Professor Patrick Russill, Head of Choral Conducting

Professor David Sawer, Professor of Composition

Professor Nick Smart, Head of Jazz


Associate Professor Emily Kilpatrick, Lecturer in Academic Studies