Recent Composition graduate Jasper Dommett has received a nomination for Best Chamber Ensemble Composition for Disco! Disco! Good! Good?, along with fellow alumni Luke Bedford (Staggered Nocturne) and William Marsey (Why Do You Grieve).

Naomi Pinnock has been nominated in the Best Choral Composition category for Landscape for six solo voices, while Alex Paxton's ilolli-pop has received a nomination for Best Large Ensemble Composition, and Philip Venables's Answer Machine Tape, 1987 has been nominated for best Small Chamber Composition.

Furthermore, Junior Academy alumni Toby Young and Dobrinka Tabakova have been nominated for Best Community and Participation Composition in association with ABRSM, for their works It Takes a City and Swarm Fanfares.

It is wonderful to see the work of our former students recognised in this celebration of creative excellence, particularly from many recent graduates. The Academy's Composition department strives to move music forward, and this dynamic range of new pieces that has been nominated demonstrates the calibre of our alumni.

Philip Cashian, Head of Composition

This year's Ivors Classical Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday 14 November at BFI Southbank in London, and will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on Saturday 18 November. The Academy wishes all its alumni the best of luck ahead of the ceremony.