Each will work closely on major projects and performances with our students in the coming months.

Diapason d'Or de l'Année 2020 winner Philip Hobbs is the Academy’s first visiting professor of recording. Appointed at the end of last year, Hobbs will continue to work closely with the Academy’s Principal, Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, and many staff and students, building on the unique collaboration between Linn Records and the Academy.

John Wilson, another familiar Academy face, joins us as Henry Wood Chair of Conducting, joining a stellar lineup of world-renowned conductors in the Academy family, including Philippe Herreweghe, Semyon Bychkov, Edward Gardner, Sir Mark Elder, Trevor Pinnock and Ryan Wigglesworth. Wilson will continue to conduct orchestral concerts and offer mentoring to individual students. You can watch an excerpt of Wilson conducting Tchaikovsky at the Academy here.

Pianist Tamara Stefanovich joins the Academy as Visiting Professor of Chamber Music. She will curate the first annual chamber music festival, focusing on and around the music of Ligeti and Kurtág.

In Jazz, recent and upcoming guest artists working with students include Maria Schneider, Dave Okumu, and Dave Holland as the annual Artist in Residence. The Musical Theatre Company enjoys regular visits from some of the industry’s leading names, including Rosalie Craig, Hadley Fraser, Imelda Staunton and visiting professor Claude-Michel Schönberg.

We are also delighted – restrictions permitting – that the Academy's Barbirolli Chair of Conducting, Sir Mark Elder, will join us for a summer series of performances and masterclasses.

For full details of upcoming events, please continue to check the Academy’s What’s On and News pages.