Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Divertimento in C, K 187

Allegro moderato
Allegro moderato
Ballo. Gavotte
Allegro molto
Allegro non troppo

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Three Equali, WoO 30

Poco adagio
Poco sostenuto

Isobel Daws, Chris Brewster, Merin Rhyd and Angus Butt trombone

Felipe Lara (b 1979)
200 PIECES Postcard 4 (world premiere)

Angus Butt bass trombone

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)
Two Aequali


Hannah Stell, Meggie Murphy and Samuel Taber trombone

Ludwig van Beethoven arr Nicholas Reader
Symphony No 1 in C, Op 21

Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
Andante cantabile con moto
Menuetto e Trio. Allegro molto e vivace
Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace

Mark David and Fraser Gordon conductors

All performers at this event are conforming to our safety requirements of being at least two metres apart.

Piccolo and Flute
Lucy Driver
Kamilla Dancsa

Jack Tostevin-Hall
Ellen Wilkinson

Ivan Rogachev
Michele Prokop

Shing To Mak
Emily Dore
Ruihan Kee

Ruihan Kee

Natural Horn
George Strivens
Alfred Lee

Natural Trumpet
Holly Clark
Nicholas Budd
Karol Onderko
Adam Wood
Joseph Skypala

Ethan Skuodas

Felipe Lara’s work – which includes orchestral, chamber, vocal, film, electroacoustic, and popular music – engages in producing new musical contexts by means of interpreting and translating acoustical and extra-musical properties of familiar source sonorities into project-specific forces. He often aspires to create self-similar relationships between the macro- and micro-articulation of the musical experience and highlights the interdependence of acoustic music composition and technology, including the application of electroacoustic paradigms as catalysts for both entire structures and local textures.

His music has been recently commissioned by leading soloists, ensembles, and institutions such as the Arditti Quartet, Brentano Quartet, Claire Chase, Conrad Tao, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Duo Diorama, Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Modern, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Ogni Suono, Rebekah Heller, and the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra, as well as the Amazonas Philharmonic, Asasello Quartet, Ensemble Recherche, David Fulmer, Ex Novo Ensemble, Ilan Volkov, JACK Quartet, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Mivos Quartet, Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic Hilversum, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Péter Eötvös, Steven Schick, and the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra.

His compositions have been presented by festivals and venues such as Aspen Music Festival, Aldeburgh Music Festival, Ars Musica (Belgium), The Art Institute of Chicago, Budapest Music Center, Carnegie Hall Neighborhood Concerts, Darmstadt International Courses for New Music, Heidelberger Frühling, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, King’s Place, Luxembourg Philharmonie, Lincoln Center’s Mostly Mozart Festival, Philharmonie de Paris, The Phillips Collection in Washington DC, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Tanglewood’s Festival for Contemporary Music, Teatro Amazonas in Manaus, Teatro La Fenice, and Theatro Municipal in São Paulo.

The recipient of a 2015 Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship, from Harvard University, he was awarded an invitational fellowship from the Civitella Ranieri Foundation and a composition prize from the Brazilian Ministry of Culture in 2014, Master Artist Award from the National Association of Latino Arts and Culture in 2013, and the Kanter/Mivos String Quartet Prize 2011, as well as commissions from the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University in 2011 and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation at Library of Congress in 2016. He was also a finalist for the 2014 Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

He holds a PhD in Music Composition from New York University (Graduate Scholl of Arts and Science) where he was a Henry M. MacCracken Fellow, a Masters from Tufts University, and a Bachelors degree from Berklee College of Music. His main teachers were Louis Karchin, Tristan Murail, Mario Davidovsky, John McDonald, Vuk Kulenovic, and Alla Elana Cohen.

Having previously taught at New York University’s Faculty of Arts and Science, he has been visiting lecturer at Federal University of Bahia and is currently Visiting Faculty, Lecturer on Music, at Harvard’s Department of Music, where he was awarded a Harvard Excellence in Teaching Award in 2017.