Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Der Hirt auf dem Felsen, D 965

Helen Lacey soprano
Lucia Porcedda
Max Bilbe piano

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
From Lieder und Gesänge aus Wilhelm Meister, Op 98a

Nur wer die Sehnsucht kennt
Heiß mich nicht reden
So laßt mich scheinen, bis ich werde

Rachel Ridout soprano
Ilan Kurtser piano

Gloria Coates (b 1938)
200 PIECES Ophelia's Mad Scene (world premiere)

How should I your true love know?
To-morrow is Saint Valentine’s day
By Gis and By Saint Charity
They bore him barefaced on the bier
You must sing a-down a-down
For bonny sweet Robin is all my joy
And will he not come again?

Helen Corlett mezzo-soprano

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
From Sechs Lieder, Op 85


Danni O’Neill soprano
Stella Marie Lorenz

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Notturno, Op 44 No 1

Isaac Tolley bass-baritone
Muriel Oberhofer
Ilan Kurtser piano

From Vier Lieder, Op 27

Ruhe, meine Seele!
Heimliche Aufforderung

Daniel Kringer tenor
Stella Marie Lorenz piano

Gloria Coates was born in Wausau, Wisconsin, and began composing and experimenting with overtones and clusters from an early age. Her studies took her from Chicago, Cooper Union Art School, New York City, and Louisiana (with a Master’s in Composition), to postgraduate studies in composition at Columbia University, with both Alexander Tcherepnin and Otto Luening being important mentors.

Since 1969, Coates has lived primarily in Europe. The Polish Chamber Orchestra premiered her Music on Open Strings (Symphony No 1) under Jerzy Maksymiuk at Warsaw Autumn Festival in 1978, and in 1986 it was a finalist for the Koussevitzky International Award (KIRA). The piece achieved a breakthrough at Munich’s musica viva in 1980 as the first orchestral composition by a woman composer in the 34-year history of the festival.

Coates has written numerous works including 17 symphonies, 10 string quartets, chamber music, solo and vocal music, musique concrète, and the chamber opera Stolen Identity. Her music has been performed at many festivals including MaerzMusik (Berlin), New Music America (New York), Other Minds (San Francisco), the Dresden Music Festival, Warsaw Autumn, Avanti (Finland), the Hans Werner Henze Festival in Montepulciano, and Aspekte Salzburg.

Among the artists who have performed her work include the Kronos, Kreutzer, Spektral, and JACK quartets, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Brooklyn Philharmonic, the Stuttgart Philharmonic Orchestra, the Milwaukee Symphony, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, and the St Paul Chamber Orchestra. In November 2018, she was invited by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra for a concert of her First, Seventh and Eleventh symphonies, conducted by Ilan Volkov.