Performance is the essential driving force behind everything we do in the Academy.

Our termly events calendar reads like a ‘Who’s Who’ of music. We invite the greatest names in the industry to work closely with our students in a wide range of projects, often finishing with a public performance. 

Visiting Professor of Music 
Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Klemperer Chair of Conducting 
Semyon Bychkov

Barbirolli Chair of Conducting
Sir Mark Elder

Sir Charles Mackerras Chair of Conducting 
Edward Gardner

Richard Rodney Bennett Professor of Music
Oliver Knussen

Principal Conductor, Academy Chamber Orchestra
Trevor Pinnock CBE, Hon RAM

Carl Maria von Weber Visiting Professor of Conducting
Christian Thielemann

Sir Colin Davis Fellow in Conducting 
Robin Ticciati


Director of Artistic Planning: 
Nicola Mutton BA, Hon FRAM

In the past few years, Academy students have worked in concerts, workshops and masterclasses with high-profile international artists including:

Conductors and instrumentalists
John Adams, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Martyn Brabbins, Baldur Brönniman,Semyon Bychkov, Laurence Cummings, Stéphane Denève, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Sir Mark Elder, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Edward Gardner, Jane Glover, Imogen Cooper, Clio Gould, Colin Currie, Josephine Knight, Susanna Mälkki, Franck Ollu, Trevor Pinnock, Rachel Podger, Sir Simon Rattle, Daniel Hope, Kathryn Stott, Stephen Hough, Leif Segerstam, Bine Bryndorf, Ning Feng, Pascal Devoyon, Shmuel Ashkenasi, Steven Isserlis, Masaaki Suzuki, Christian Thielemann, Gareth Hancock, Yan Pascal Tortelier, Mitsuko Uchida, Jac van Steen, Vladimir Jurowski, Robin Ticciati, Marin Alsop, Maxim Vengerov, Murray Perahia and David Zinman.

Singers Sir Thomas Allen, Barbara Bonney, Wolfgang Holzmair, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Angelika Kirchschlager, Richard Berkeley-Steele, Susan Bullock, Dame Felicity Lott, Dennis O'Neill, Ann Murray and Jessye Norman.

Composers George Benjamin, the late Sir Richard Rodney Bennett, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Pierre Boulez, Anders Hillborg, Rolf Wallin, Luke Bedford, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, Oliver Knussen, Michael Finnissy, Judith Weir and Stephen Sondheim.

Jazz artists Django Bates, Dave Douglas, Peter Erskine, Stan Tracey, the late Kenny Wheeler, Keith Nichols, Norma Winstone, Nikki Iles and Dave Holland.

Directors John Copley, Christopher Cowell, John Cox, David Pountney, Hannah Chissick, Philip Franks, Gareth Valentine, Victoria Newlyn, William Kerley and John Ramster.

Find out more:

Orchestras, Ensembles and Chamber Music

Collaborations and Partnerships

Events and How to book

External Bookings (Hire our students)

Concerts Department Staff