Clio Gould director

Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Lachrymae, Op 48a

Julie Park viola

Nuno da Rocha (b 1986)
Diptych (world premiere)

Commissioned by The Arts Society

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) arr Rudolf Barshai (1924-2010)
Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op 110a

Allegro molto

All performers at this event are conforming to our safety requirements of being at least 2 metres apart.

Nuno da Rocha is a PhD composition student at the Academy, under the supervision of Dr Rubens Askenar and Dr David Sawer.

In 2010, Nuno took part in the 16th Young Composers Meeting in Apeldoorn, The Netherlands, with the orkest de ereprijs directed by Louis Andriessen. In 2014, he premiered I could not think of thee as piecèd rot for soprano and orchestra, with Magnus Lindberg conducting the Gulbenkian Orchestra.

In 2015, Nuno was the Young Composer in Residence at Casa da Música (Porto, Portugal). In 2017/18, he worked with the ASKO|Schönberg ensemble in two new opera projects at the Festival d’Avignon, France.

In September 2019, the Baroque orchestra Divino Sospiro released a monographic album of Nuno’s works for Baroque instruments, and in November, he won the Arts Society Composition Prize for his work Restart.

In January 2020, the Gulbenkian Orchestra premiered Inferno, a concerto for one performer, choir and orchestra, commissioned by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation and the Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo (São Paulo, Brazil). In July, his work was very highly commended at the Theodore Holland Intercollegiate Composition Prize in London.

First violin
Clio Gould
Ilhem Ben Khalfa
Magdalina Vutova
Serin Baek

Second violin
Guo Yu
James Yong Jie Chen
James Alfred Jones
Emma Baird

Inis Oirr Asano
Hannah Roberts
Elizabeth Tobald
Carys Barnes

Henry Hargreaves
Jakub Wycislik
Shannon Ross
Caleb Curtis

Double bass
Jared Prokop
Alexander Jones

Julie Park holds a Bachelor of Music with first-class honours from the University of Auckland and a Master of Arts with distinction from the Royal Academy of Music. She is the first violist to study for an Advanced Diploma at the Academy as a Bicentenary Scholar.

As a concerto soloist, she has performed with the Baden Baden Philharmonia Orchestra, Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and University of Auckland Symphony Orchestra.

She was the grand winner in the Viva La Viola competition and was APO’s Young Soloist of the Year in 2016, came second in the Curtis Summerfest Young Artists Program Concerto Competition in 2017 and the International Anton Rubinstein Viola Competition in 2020, and won the Len Lickorish Memorial Prize for a String Player of Promise at the Royal Over-Seas League Annual Music Competition in 2020. As a chamber musician she has won several competitions, including the Auckland Chamber Music Society Prize Competition two years in a row and the 2020 Harold Craxton Prize at the Academy. She made her CD recording debut in 2018 with Atoll Records.

"Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op 110a"
Composed by Shostakovich, arranged by Rudolf Barshai
© Copyright 1978 by Musikverlag Hans Sikorski
By permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd.

"Lachrymae, Op 48a"
Composed by Benjamin Britten
By permission of Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd.