Makoto Ozone (b 1961) arr Simon Carrington
Kato’s Revenge

Fang Fang (b 1984)
200 PIECES Ghost Dance (world premiere)

Jonathan Phillips percussion

Robert Peate (b 1987)
200 PIECES Morlich Meditation (world premiere)

Ethan Skuodas marimba

Joe Locke (b 1959) arr Alan Baylock
Her Sanctuary

Rūta Vitkauskaitė (b 1984)
200 PIECES Buried Chants (world premiere)

Chiao-An Chiang bass drum

Tim Garland (b 1966)
The Fullness of Time

Neil Percy conductor

Massimo Martone
Matthew Brett
Meadow Brooks
Chiao-An Chiang
Ethan Skuodas
Francesca Lombardelli
Jani Rodrigues Silva
Jonathan Fourrier
Jonathan Phillips
Quentin Broyart
Robert Wills

Ashkan Layegh

Alexandra Ridout

Beginning composition lessons at Birmingham Conservatoire in 2006, Robert Peate studied with Richard Causton and Edwin Roxburgh, graduating in 2010 with first class honours. He was offered an entrance scholarship from the Royal Academy of Music alongside grants from the RVW Trust and the AHRC to begin his MMus under Simon Bainbridge, on which he was awarded the 2011 Eric Coates Prize and The G V Turner-Cooke Composition Award. Graduating in 2012 with distinction, Robert received an additional DipRAM along with The Charles Lucas Memorial Prize for best composition and the Edwin Samuel Dove Prize. Other awards from this time include the 2012 Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Prize, the 2012 Alan Horne Prize, and more recently the 2016 Priaulx Rainier Prize. Over his time at the Academy, Robert has also received much valuable tuition from Christopher Austin, as well as the late Peter Maxwell Davies and Oliver Knussen. He is currently a PhD student at the Academy supervised by Simon Bainbridge, where he continues his research into ‘monochromatic instrumentation’. His music takes on a wide range of influences, stemming from a diverse musical upbringing, where prevalent features often include a directness of character, textural depth, and a sense of thematic unity and direction.

Robert has enjoyed performances of his work at venues including the Queen Elizabeth Hall, Wigmore Hall, Bridgewater Hall, Snape Maltings, Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, Cheltenham Town Hall, Imperial War Museum, Adrian Boult Hall and Thalia Hall, and has worked with various professional, student and amateur ensembles including the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, CHROMA, Fretwork, Orchestra of the Swan, the Britten-Pears Composers Ensemble, the Solaris and Castalian string quartets, as well as with renowned performers such as Christopher Redgate, Rolf Hind, Elgar Howarth, Clare Hammond, Vesselin Gellev, Tim Horton, Gemma Rosefield and Frank Ollu. Robert is also a Britten-Pears Young Artist, and his work has been broadcast on BBC Radio 3.

Recent work includes a Violin Concerto for Vesselin Gellev and the London Philharmonic Orchestra as part of the 2015-16 LPO Young Composers Scheme, Sylva Suite for harpist Alexandra Guiraud, …Luciferum… for Cantabile Girls’ Choir, Two Souls in One, a musical commentary on the lives of Hypatia and Saint Katherine of Alexandria for Hereford Chamber Choir and the Academy Harp Ensemble, and organising a performance of his large-scale Symphony for Horns.

Besides composition and research, Robert also teaches piano and composition on a freelance basis, has been involved with composition workshops in schools, and lives in Herefordshire.

Rūta Vitkauskaitė’s musical interests are widely varied – while working in the field of classical composition, she has also dedicated much of her time for research in collaborative music creation and music personalisation. Vitkauskaitė recently received PhD in composition from Royal Academy of Music, where she focused on audience engagement and collective music creation. Her collaborative electro-acoustic opera for blind-folded audience, Confessions, created by Spatial Opera Company won the Golden Stage Cross in Lithuania, and since then has toured across Europe. Her Walking Opera, (opera co-created with local communities and presented as sound-walk around local areas), was first performed in Aarhus in 2017, and subsequently re-created in Notting Hill. Her ensemble and orchestral compositions have been five-times awarded as Best Composition of the Year by Lithuanian Composer's Union, while her music has been performed in festivals across Europe and broadcast on Lithuanian National TV, LRT Classic, BBC Radio 3, Deutschlandradio Kultur and many independent radio stations.

Vitkauskaitė has also been active initiator of experimental music projects, from collaborative groups to large scale festivals: she was director of Druskomanija festival and workshop series the Process in Lithuania for several years, facilitator of New Music Incubator across Europe, facilitator and tutor at ComposersPlus summer academy in Lithuania, and currently – initiator of the Glasgow branch of CoMA, Contemporary Music for All.

Chinese composer Fang Fang is one of the young generation of artists bridging the divide between Chinese folk music and western classical music. Her compositions include vocal, choral, chamber, piano and orchestral works.

Her areas of specialty include Mongolian and Tibetan music, as well as the music of Zhuang, Dong and Miao tribes. For her efforts in integrating Chinese folk and philosophical elements into her compositions, she has also received several national and international awards, including third prize at the Shan Chuan Cup of the Chengdu International Modern Music Composition Competition in 2004, the prestigious Chinese national Golden Bell Award of Chinese National Music in 2011 and the John Mayer Prize in 2014. Her compositions have been workshopped and premiered by many outstanding ensembles and choirs, such as Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Decibel, Krock Electric Guitar Quartet, the Le Page String Quartet and Via Nova Choir.