Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Auf dem Strom, D 943

Òscar Colomina i Bosch (b 1971)
200 PIECES Down Fifth Avenue (world premiere)

Victoria Borisova-Ollas (b 1969)
200 PIECES Magnolia in the Rain (world premiere)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Horn Trio, Op 40

Scherzo. Allegro - Molto meno Allegro
Adagio mesto
Finale. Allegro con brio

Mera Horn Trio
George Strivens horn
Julian Chan piano
Isobel Howard violin

Dean of Music at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía in Madrid, former Director of Music of The Yehudi Menuhin School (2017-20) and Professor of Orchestration at the Royal Academy of Music (2013-20), Òscar Colomina i Bosch is a sought-after composer and conductor who has guest conducted and lectured at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague's School for Young Talent and is part of the teaching faculty of Porto PianoFest and the Akoesticum Talent Programme in Holland. Having performed with Carlo Maria Giulini and Gianandrea Noseda as part of the Spanish National Youth Orchestra, he subsequently pursued further studies at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and Royal Academy of Music with Malcolm Singer and Simon Bainbridge (composition), and Alan Hazeldine (conducting).

A commission from the Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition, Shpigl for solo violin (2016), was praised by composer John Adams, who programmed it in the Los Angeles Philharmonic Green Umbrella Series ‘Noon to Midnight’ festival.

His most recent orchestral work, Entfaltung (2015), written for the Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León, was also acclaimed. His work has also been performed and commissioned by the Philharmonia Orchestra, Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical, Orchestra of the Swan, Schubert Ensemble and the Real Filharmonia de Galicia, appearing at concert venues across the UK, USA, Spain, Portugal, France, Denmark and Italy, including Wigmore Hall, Southbank Centre, Yale and New York Universities, Palau de la Música de Valencia and Auditorio de Galicia. His compositions have been broadcast in Spain, Portugal, Mexico, Denmark and the USA.

Festival appearances include Manchester QuartetFest, Frontiers Festival of Contemporary Music, Composers Now, European Congress of Conservatoires, Música en Compostela, Encuentro Internacional de Compositores in Mallorca, and the Cheltenham, Harrogate, Aldeburgh, Gower, Oundle, City of London, Burgos and Ensems festivals.

He orchestrated works for Heinrich Schiff and the Kremerata Baltica, and for the Yehudi Menuhin International Competition, and has had composition residencies at London’s Barbican Pit Theatre, the Joven Orquesta Internacional Ciudad de Oviedo and in Cove Park in Scotland.

Victoria Borisova-Ollas was born 1969 in Russia but has lived in Sweden for many years. She first achieved international recognition when her work Wings of the Wind won second prize in the Masterprize competition in 1998. She uses an original and innovative vocabulary of sounds to create acoustic spaces of great beauty and intensity, capable of captivating both sophisticated ears and those of less experienced but curious listeners.

Borisova-Ollas began her musical studies at an early age. After graduating first from the Central School of Music in Moscow and then from the Tchaikovsky Conservatoire, she continued her composition studies in Sweden at Malmö Music College and at the Royal College of Music in London.

Her music is widely performed all around the world by ensembles including the BBC Philharmonic, Munich Philharmonic, and the London Symphony, Wiener Radio Symphony, Pittsburgh Symphony, NHK Symphony, Stuttgart Radio Symphony, Finnish Radio Symphony, Düsseldorf Symphony, Swedish Radio Symphony, Bern Symphony, Helsinki Philharmonic, Gothenburg Symphony, Swedish Royal Philharmonic and Winnipeg Symphony orchestras, the Raschèr Saxophone Quartet and KammarensembleN.

Borisova-Ollas's works have been broadcast by Swedish Television, BBC Radio 3, Swedish Radio P2, and by other broadcasting companies in Finland, Russia, the USA, Slovenia, Germany and Canada.

Her clarinet concerto Golden Dances of the Pharaohs won both the 2010 Swedish Music Publishers Association (MPA) Award and the 2011 Royal Swedish Academy of Music's Christ Johnson Prize. She also received the Swedish MPA Award in 2008 for The Ground Beneath Her Feet and the minor Christ Johnson Prize for Symphony No 1, 'The Triumph of Heaven', in 2005.

Since 2008 Borisova-Ollas has been a member of the The Royal Swedish Academy of Music.