Head of Piano, Professor Joanna MacGregor CBE, introduces a day celebrating Beethoven’s 250th anniversary. His vivacious chamber music sits alongside works by Prokofiev, Khachaturian, Ireland and Dobrinka Tabakova, and two pinnacles of solo virtuosity are also featured: the Diabelli Variations and Liszt’s transcription of the ‘Eroica’ Symphony.

See below for all programme details.

All performers at these events are conforming to our safety requirements of being at least two metres apart.

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Cello Sonata in C, Op 119

Andante grave
Allegro ma non troppo

Anton Webern (1883-1945)
Three Little Pieces, Op 11

Mässige Achtel
Sehr bewegt
Äusserst ruhig

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Cello Sonata in C, Op 102 No 1

Andante – allegro vivace
Adagio – Tempo d’andate – Allegro vivace

Garwyn Linnell cello
Xiaowen Shang

Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978)
Trio for clarinet, violin and piano

Andante con dolore, con molto espressione

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Trio in B flat, Op 11

Allegro con brio
Tema con variazioni

Alina Vorobyeva clarinet
Elizaveta Tyun violin
Anastasia Matkovskaia piano
Ben Finlay cello

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
33 Variations on a Waltz by Anton Diabelli, Op 120

Ariel Lanyi piano

Dobrinka Tabakova (b 1980)
Suite in Jazz Style

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Notturno in D, Op 42

March: Allegro – Adagio
Minuet: Allegretto – Trio
Adagio – Allegro scherzando
Alla Pollacca
Andante quasi allegretto
Marcia: Allegro

Erik Fauss viola
Nicolas Ventura piano

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano trio in C minor, Op 1 No 3

Allegro con brio
Andante cantabile con variazioni
Minuetto: Quasi allegro
Finale: Prestissimo

John Ireland (1879-1962)
Piano Trio No 3 in E

Allegro moderato
Scherzo: vivace
Andante cantabile
Finale: Con moto

Odora Trio:
Songeun Choi piano
Sophie Hinson violin
Francesca Cull cello

Edmund Finnis (b 1984)
Five trios

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano trio in E flat, Op 1 No 1

Adagio cantabile
Scherzo: Allegro assai
Finale: Presto

Trio Mazzolini:
Harry Rylance piano
Jack Greed violin
Yurie Lee cello

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) arr Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Symphony No 3 in E flat, Op 55, ‘Eroica’

Allegro con brio
Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
Scherzo: Allegro vivace
Finale: Allegro molto

Kevin Suherman piano