Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
Henry V Overture

Gavin Higgins (b 1983)
200 PIECES Fanfare from Fanfare, Air and Flourishes (world premiere)

Johan Stone horn

Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006)
Brass Quintet No 1, Op 73

Allegro vivace
Con brio

Johan Stone horn
James Nash and Holly Clark trumpet
Hannah Stell trombone
Christopher Barron tuba

Thomas Hyde (b 1978)
200 PIECES Vera Stravinsky, Pudding Destroyer (world premiere)

Hannah Stell trombone

Herbert Howells (1892-1983)

King's Herald

Academy Symphonic Brass
Mark David conductor

All performers at this event are conforming to our safety requirements of being at least two metres apart.

Johan Stone
Lynn Henderson
Hannah Williams
Alfred Lee
Joseph Longstaff

Baritone horn
Alfred Lee
Joseph Longstaff

Holly Clark
James Kelly
James Nash
John Vernon
Karol Onderko
William Thomas
Adam Wood
Alexander Morgan
Emily Ashby
Joseph Matthews
Joseph Skypala
Nicholas Budd
Rui Teixeira Ribeiro
Zoë Perkins

Isobel Daws
Hannah Stell
Chris Brewster
Merin Rhyd
Samuel Taber

Chris Brewster
Merin Rhyd

Tuba in E flat
Aled Meredith-Barrett
Christopher Barron

Tuba in B flat
Adam Collins
James Tavares

Quentin Broyart

Francesca Lombardelli
Robert Wills
Jonathan Phillips

Gavin Higgins was born in Gloucestershire and grew up in the Forest of Dean. He studied french horn and composition at Chetham’s School of Music, the Royal Northern College of Music, and the Royal College of Music.

Significant commissions include Der Aufstand for the 2012 BBC Proms, Rough Voices for the 2020 BBC Proms, and Velocity for the Last Night of the 2014 BBC Proms, the trombone concerto, The Book of Miracles – first performed by the BBC Symphony Orchestra and soloist Helen Vollam in 2019 – and the premiere of his first opera The Monstrous Child in the same year at the Linbury Theatre at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden which opened to critical acclaim.

Higgins comes from a long lineage of working-class brass band musicians dating back to 1895 and his passion for this heritage has resulted in a number of vigorous, daring works for brass such as Destroy, Trample as Swiftly as She (2011), Prophecies (2017) and So Spoke Albion (2019) commissioned for the European Brass Band Championships.

Higgins was appointed Rambert Dance Company’s inaugural Music Fellow in 2010, writing ballet scores including What Wild Ecstasy (2012) and the award-winning Dark Arteries (2016). Higgins has received BASCA nominations for A Forest Symphony (2009), What Wild Ecstasy (2012), Diversions After Benjamin Britten (2013), The Ruins of Detroit (2015), and A Dark Arteries Suite (2018). Dark Arteries was shortlisted for a Royal Philharmonic Society Music Award (2016) and in 2019 he won an Ivor Novello Award for The Book of Miracles.

His career thus far has seen Higgins commissioned by – and work with – orchestras, ensembles and soloists including the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, Manchester Camerata, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble 10:10, Rambert, the Carducci Quartet, the Fidelio Trio, the Piatti Quartet, David Cohen and Mark Simpson.

Thomas Hyde is a composer whose works are increasingly performed in Britain and abroad. His largest work to date is the one-man opera, That Man Stephen Ward, premiered to great acclaim in 2008 and revived by Nova Music Opera at the Cheltenham Festival in 2015. A commercial recording, featuring Damian Thantrey in the title role, was issued by Resonus Classics in autumn 2017. Other notable works have included a string quartet (2009-10), a violin sonata for Jennifer Pike (2012) and a piano trio (2016). Recent compositions have included two orchestral works, a Symphony premiered by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in Glasgow in March 2018, and a comedy overture inspired by Les Dawson for the BBC National Orchestra of Wales premiered at the 2018 Lichfield Festival, as well as a setting of the Magnificat for The Sixteen, commissioned by Concertgebouw Brugge.

Born in London, Thomas Hyde studied at the University of Oxford and the Royal Academy of Music, where his teachers included Robert Saxton, Simon Bainbridge and Peter Maxwell Davies. He was Manson Junior Fellow at the Royal Academy of Music (2001-2) and in 2017 was elected an ARAM. He has supported his compositional work with various part-time teaching posts. He has taught at City University London and is currently on the staff of the music department at King’s College, London. In June 2019 he was elected to a Senior Research Fellowship at Worcester College, Oxford, where he has also taught for a number of years.

As well as his composing and teaching commitments, Thomas Hyde is chair of the Lucille Graham Trust, a charity that supports music education work in London, and a member of the Little Missenden Festival committee and Presteigne Festival Advisory Group. As a writer he has recently completed a biography of the Welsh composer William Mathias and his study of David Matthews was published by Plumbago Books in 2014.