Composition staff

Professor Philip Cashian Head of Composition

Visiting Professors

Hans Abrahamsen Oliver Knussen Chair of Composition
John Adams
Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Tod Machover
James Newton Howard
Andrew Norman
Bent Sørensen
Ryan Wigglesworth Richard Rodney Bennett Professor of Music

Teaching Staff

Dr Rubens Askenar
Christopher Austin
Gary Carpenter
Dr Edmund Finnis
Helen Grime
Morgan Hayes

David Sawer 

Dr Tansy Davies Honorary Research Fellow
Huw Watkins Honorary Research Fellow

Academic Studies

Philip Dawson Creative Technology
Paul Morley Music and Contemporary Culture
Patrick Nunn Techniques of Composition

Photo below: unveiling in 2016 of a bust of Sir Harrison Birtwistle by Celia Scott. Read more