Richard Lewis Award

The Richard Lewis Award was founded in 2001 and is open to postgraduate singers studying at the Royal Academy of Music.

The Award is generously funded by Richard Lewis/Jean Shanks Trust. This charity was established in 1993 by Elizabeth Muir-Lewis – three years after the death of her husband Richard Lewis, the great British tenor.

A major award for the best accompanist is generously donated by Brenda Webb, a close friend and admirer of Richard Lewis.

2016: Richard Walshe

2015: Emily Garland

2014: Céline Forrest

2013: Christina Gansch

2012: Sarah-Jane Lewis

Second prize: Andri Bjorn Robertsson and Gareth John

2011: Katie Bray

Second prize: Adam Marsden, Sonia Grane

2010: Mary Bevan

Second prize: Frederick Long

2009: Roberto Ortiz

Second prize: Oliver Dunn

2008: Angela Bic

Second prize: Meeta Raval

2007: David Butt Philip, Kong Seok Choi and Gerard Collett

(joint winners)

2006: Dong Jun Wang

Second prize: Allan Clayton

2005: Amanda Forbes

2004: Clara Mouriz

2003: Seung Wook Seong

2002: Lucy Crowe and Sarah Tynan

(joint winners)

2001: Rodney Clarke

The singer’s prize is £14,000, and the Webb Accompanist’s Prize is £3,500.

The Academy’s archives have in-depth information, scores and photographs of Richard Lewis, who studied at the Academy. A room in the Academy’s York Gate building is named in his honour. The Richard Lewis/Jean Shanks Trust’s website has a wealth of valuable biographical information.

Latest News

Richard Lewis at 100


The British tenor Richard Lewis (1914–1990) would have been 100 today. Our collective memories of even the very greates...