Royal Academy Opera staff

Gareth Hancock Director of Opera

Kate Paterson Head of Vocal Studies

Visiting Professors

John Mark Ainsley Visiting Professor of Opera
Sir Thomas Allen Visiting Professor of Singing
Barbara Bonney Visiting Professor of Opera
Susan Bullock CBE Marjorie Thomas Visiting Professor of Singing
Simon Keenlyside CBE Visiting Professor of Singing
Angelika Kirchschlager Visiting Professor of Singing
Anthony Legge Sir Arthur Sullivan Visiting Professor of Opera
Dame Felicity Lott Visiting Professor of Singing
Ann Murray DBE Visiting Professor of Singing
Dennis O’Neill CBE Richard Lewis Visiting Professor of Singing
Brindley Sherratt John Shirley-Quirk Professor of Singing

Head of Preparatory and Vocal Faculty Opera

Philip Sunderland

Principal Operatic Coach

Ingrid Surgenor MBE


Alexander Ashworth
Catherine Benson
Richard Berkeley-Steele
Michael Chance CBE
Raymond Connell
Ryland Davies
Philip Doghan

Nuccia Focile
Andrew Foster Williams
Glenville Hargreaves
Yvonne Howard

Caitlin Hulcup
Mary Nelson
Kate Paterson
Head of Vocal Studies
Elizabeth Ritchie
Giles Underwood
Sarah Walker CBE
Lillian Watson
Mark Wilde
Mark Wildman 
Henry Cummings Distinguished Professor of Singing
Catherine Wyn Rogers


David Antrobus Head of Acting
Alexander Crowe
David Gowland

Iain Ledingham
Steven Maughan

Jonathan Papp
Michael Pollock

Peter Robinson
Susanna Stranders

Stagecraft and Languages

Ludmilla Andrew Russian
Maria Cleva Italian

Florence Daguerre de Hureaux French
Mandy Demetriou Movement
Johanna Mayr German
Victoria Newlyn Movement
Isabella Radcliffe Italian

Felix Mendelssohn Professor of Music

Professor Jane Glover