Jazz staff

Nick Smart Head of Jazz Programmes

Watch Nick’s video introduction to Jazz at the Academy

Dave Holland Jazz Artist in Residence

Chris Potter Visiting Professor of Jazz

Bass (electric and acoustic)

Jeremy Brown
Tom Herbert
Jasper Hoiby
Michael Janisch 

Creative Technology

Aram Zarikian

Drum Kit

Martin France
Ian Thomas
Jeff Williams


Chris Montague
Mike Outram

John Parricelli
Mike Walker 

Jazz History

Keith Nichols
Mark Racz
Alyn Shipton

Martin Speake


Tom Cawley (Aural and Transcription)
Kit Downes
Nikki Iles
Liam Noble
Gwilym Simcock


James Allsop
Iain Ballamy
Tim Garland
Gareth Lockrane

Andy Panayi
Julian Siegel
Martin Speake
Stan Sulzmann


Mark Bassey
Gordon Campbell
Barnaby Dickinson
Trevor Mires
Mark Nightingale


Steve Fishwick
Mike Lovatt
Nick Smart (Head of Jazz)


Jim Hart
Anthony Kerr 


Pete Churchill 
Nia Lynn
Norma Winstone

Rhythmic Skills

Barak Schmool

Composition and Arranging

Pete Churchill

Repertoire and Improvisation

Tom Cawley
Pete Churchill
Gareth Lockrane

Nick Smart (Head of Jazz)
Martin Speake

Jazz Academic Studies

Nikki Iles

Former International Jazz Artists in Residence

Dave Liebman 2015–2016

Dave Holland 2013–2015
Watch our Youtube video about Dave at the Academy

Dave Douglas 2011–2013

You can sense that Nick Smart's a natural collaborator, loved by his students

Jazz January blog