Historical Performance staff

Professor Margaret Faultless Head of Historical Performance

Laurence Cummings William Crotch Chair, Harpsichord, Basso continuo

Rachel Podger Micaela Comberti Chair of Baroque Violin

Visiting Professors

Daniel Brüggen Recorder
Peter Holtslag Recorder


Pavlo Beznosiuk violin/viola
Professor Margaret Faultless Head of Historical Performance, violin
Elizabeth Kenny lute and theorbo
Jonathan Manson cello and viola da gamba
Nicolette Moonen violin/viola
Chi-chi Nwanoku double bass
Rachel Podger Micaela Comberti Chair of Baroque Violin
Caroline Ritchie Viol consort
Jane Rogers Viola
Simon Standage violin
Matthew Truscott violin 


Carole Cerasi harpsichord, fortepiano
Pawel Siwczak harpsichord, basso continuo


Pamela Thorby recorder
Anna Stegmann recorder
Lisa Beznosiuk flute
Katharina Spreckelsen oboe
Eric Hoeprich clarinet
Andrew Watts bassoon


Robert Farley natural trumpet and cornetto
John Hutchins natural trumpet
Roger Montgomery natural horn
Stephen Wick serpent and ophicleide
Adam Woolf sackbut and early trombone

Baroque Dance

Mary Collins