Composition staff

Professor Philip Cashian Head of Composition

Visiting Professors of Composition

John Adams
Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Tod Machover
James Newton Howard
Andrew Norman
Bent Sørensen 

Professors of Composition

Dr Rubens Askenar
Christopher Austin
Professor Simon Bainbridge Senior Professor of Composition
Gary Carpenter
Dr Edmund Finnis
Helen Grime
Morgan Hayes

David Sawer 

Dr Tansy Davies Honorary Research Fellow
Huw Watkins Honorary Research Fellow

Academic Studies

Oscar Colomina Bosch Orchestration and Conducting
Philip Dawson Creative Technology
Paul Morley Music and Contemporary Culture
Patrick Nunn Techniques of Composition

Photo above: the late Sir Peter Maxwell Davies and Sir Harrison Birtwistle in the Academy’s canteen, 2014.

Photo below: unveiling in 2016 of a bust of Sir Harrison Birtwistle by Celia Scott. Read more