Graduation 2015

-Posted on 02.07.2015

Congratulations to all the Academy students who graduated today, Thursday 2nd July 2015.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of London presented a total of 87 undergraduate (BMus) degrees and 215 postgraduate degrees, including five PhDs.

Regency Awards were presented to a select group whose industry and achievement were consistently of the highest calibre during their time at the Academy:
• the timpanist and percussionist Oliver Butterworth
• the harpist Anne Denholm
• the violinist Michael Foyle
• the accordionist Bartosz Glowacki
• the soprano Nika Goric
• the jazz bassist Florence Moore
• the composer James Moriarty
The Alumni Development Award, for a singularly distinguished musician, was presented to the mezzo soprano Anna Harvey.
The Sir Thomas Armstrong Prize, for an outstanding performance of English Choral music, was awarded to the bass Richard Walshe.
The Edwin Samuel Dove Prize for special merit during studentship was awarded to the pianist Teo Gheorghiu.
The Principal’s Prize for exceptional all-round studentship was awarded to the flautist Charlotte Ashton.
Her Royal Highness Princess Alice’s Prize for exemplary studentship – the gift of Her Royal Highness Princess Alice, Duchess of Gloucester, President of the Royal Academy of Music from 1942 to 1985 – was awarded to the bassoonist Jonathan Davies.
The Queen’s Commendation for Excellence, for the best all-round student of the year – the gift of Her Majesty the Queen, Patron of the Royal Academy of Music, was awarded to the double bassist Felix Lashmar.

In addition:
• Fellowship of the Academy was conferred upon Academy alumni Rohan De Silva (Pianist), Miloš Karadaglic (Guitarist), Katherine Lacy (Clarinettist), Lennox Mackenzie (Violinist), Christopher Redgate (Oboist), James Shearman (Composer), John Willan (Administrator & Governor) and Adam Woolf (Trombonist).
• Honorary Membership of the Academy was conferred upon Richard Bonynge (Conductor), Mark David (Trumpeter), Colin Lawson (Clarinettist and Administrator), Robin O’Neill (Bassoonist), Steven Osborne (Pianist), Nick Smart (Jazz Trumpeter) and Sarah Walker (Singer).

Finally, Honorary Doctorate of the University of London was presented to Quincy Jones. The Orator, John Suchet, said:
‘Quincy Jones has been at the very forefront of composition and production for over 60 years. He is THE barometer of great musical taste, sound production and artistic quality. He is also outstandingly philanthropic... with the greatest pleasure we recognize the career of Quincy Jones today and celebrate his exemplary musical life and achievements’.

Read more about this award

Read the Principal’s Graduation blog

graduation in the church from above

Search news articles

Please use the selection menu below or the text field to filter your results: