Academy Honours Announced

-Posted on 26.03.2018

We are pleased to announce the latest Honours awarded by the Royal Academy of Music and the University of London. The nominations below were ratified recently by the Academy’s Governing Body at the meeting of the Honours Committee on 7 February 2018. The Honours are as follows:

Honorary Doctorate of the University of London (Hon Doc)

The Academy, as a constituent college of the University of London, has the right to propose illustrious musicians to be awarded the degree of Doctor of Music honoris causa. Previous recipients include: the late Sir Colin Davis (2002), Sir Elton John (2002), the late Sir Charles Mackerras (2005), Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (2006), Daniel Barenboim (2010), the late Pierre Boulez (2010), Stephen Sondheim (2010), Sir Simon Rattle (2011), Sir George Martin (2011), Sir Mark Elder (2012), Gennady Rozhdestvensky (2013), Sir Thomas Allen (2014), Sir Ralph Kohn (2014), Quincy Jones (2015), György Pauk (2016) and Trevor Pinnock (2016).

This year, an Honorary Doctorate was awarded to:

Oliver Knussen
Composer and Conductor

Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music (FRAM)

Limited to 300 former Academy students, and awarded to those musicians who have distinguished themselves within the profession.

Stephen Ashfield Musical Theatre
Stephen Goss Guitar
Sholto Kynoch Piano
Sophie Langdon Violin
Jack Liebeck Violin
Linda Merrick Administration
Joseph Middleton Piano
Anneke Scott Classical Horn
Hilary Summers Contralto

Honorary Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon FRAM)

Limited to 100 distinguished individuals who have rendered signal service to the institution or to the music profession in general.

Robin Butler Royal Academy of Music Governor
Ian Ritchie Architect

Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon RAM)

Limited to 300 distinguished musicians who did not attend the Academy.

Harry Bicket Conductor
Christopher Cowie Oboe
Sian Edwards Conductor
Hugh Laurie Actor and Musician
Audra McDonald Musical Theatre
Hannah Roberts Cello
Imelda Staunton Actor and Musician
Jørgen van Rijen Trombone
Catherine Wyn-Rogers Mezzo-soprano

Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (ARAM)

Awarded to former students who have made a significant contribution to the music profession.

Andrew Alexander Actor
Christine Allado Musical Theatre
Joseph Arnold Bass Trombone
Charlotte Ashton Flute
Kristine Balanas Violin
Samuel Bordoli Composition
Katie Bray Mezzo-soprano
Yvonne Brewster Speech and Drama
Bob Broad Musical Theatre
Elizabeth Burgess Piano
Hilary Campbell Choral Conductor
Alberto Casadei Cello
Rupert Charlesworth Tenor
Belle Chen Piano
William Cole Double Bass
Òscar Colomina i Bosch Composition
Rachel Cooper Mezzo-soprano
Susanna Cork Musical Theatre
Margaret Cotton Percussion
Philip Dale Trombone and Sackbut
Will Dawes Choral Conductor
Diomedes Demetriades Flute
Steve Doman Viola
Matt Elson Theatrical Agent
Paul Englishby Composition
Eduardo Enrikez Musical Theatre
Nathaniel Facey Jazz saxophone
Samantha Fernando Composition
Tommy Foster Percussion
Michael Foyle Violin
Fiachra Garvey Piano
Mark Gasser Piano
Frederick Gavita Jazz trumpet
Calum Gourlay Jazz double bass
Anna Harvey Mezzo-soprano
John Herford Baritone
Rebecca Herman Cello
Chris Higginbottom Jazz drums
Jeffrey Howard Choral Conductor
Anna Huntley Mezzo-soprano
Alexandra Jakeman Flute
Oliver Janes Clarinet
Catrin Johnsson Mezzo-soprano
Ross Knight Tuba
Daniel Lanthier Baroque oboe
Sten Lassmann Piano
Thomas Laurence Jazz saxophone
Chunying Li Viola
James Maddren Jazz drums
Kate Marlais Musical Theatre
Christopher Mayo Composition
Adam Melvin Composition
Iain Milne Tenor
Aoife Miskelly Soprano
Florian Mitrea Piano
Paul Moylan Jazz double bass
Paul Newland Composition
Pei Jee Ng Cello
Jonathan Noyce Jazz bass guitar
Stephanie Oatridge Oboe
Andrejs Osokins Piano
Alex Otterburn Baritone
Stephen Pedder Baroque violin
Vera Pereira Double Bass
Henrik Persson Baroque cello
Anna Picard Writer and journalist
David Pipe Organ
Hayley Pullen Baroque bassoon
Timothy Ridout Viola
Thomas Rodda Clarinet and Bandmaster
Alison Rose Soprano
Susan Rothstein Harp
Elaine Ruby Clarinet
Daniele Rustioni Conductor
Sarah Sew Violin
Gemma Sharples Violin
Rachel Sherry Soprano
Bozidar Smiljanic Bass-baritone
Romola Smith Clarinet
Lara Somogyi Harp
James Spilling Musical Theatre
David Stark Double Bass
Kim Strebel Soprano
Sarah Tandy Jazz piano
Felix Tanner Viola
Laura Tebbutt Musical Theatre
Fred Thomas Jazz piano
Yukino Thompson Oboe
Suzanne Thorn Oboe
Arnfinn Tobiassen Organ
Tranh Trinh Piano
James Turnbull Oboe
Dominic Tyler Bassoon
Artem Vassiliev Composition
Marjolein Vermeeren Flute
Richard Waters Viola
Rachel Wick Harp
Alex Young Musical Theatre
Amy Yuan Violin
Stephan Zilias Conductor

Honorary Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon ARAM)

Awarded to those who have rendered signal service to the Academy, whether they have been professional musicians or not, and who have not studied at the Academy.

Milda Agazarian Harp
Richard Berkeley-Steele Tenor
Dan Bowling Musical Theatre
Edoardo Catemario Guitar
Joe Dodd Piano technician
Philip Harmer Oboe
Brian Heron Architect
Andrew Lang Recording engineer
Rosie Larkins Academy administrator
Emily Mould Academy administrator
Liam Noble Jazz piano
William O'Sullivan Trumpet
Brigita Pangonyte Catering assistant
Isabella Radcliffe Italian coach
Beth Randell Horn
Christoph Richter Cello
Naechane Romeo IT support assistant
Kathleen Rule Academy administrator
Timothy Rundle Oboe
Will Scott Estates management
Alyn Shipton Jazz historian
Julian Siegel Jazz saxophone
Nicole Tibbels French coach
Mike Walker Jazz guitar
Gemma Waring Academy administrator
Lawrence Wilson Contractor

Congratulations to all awardees.

Search news articles

Please use the selection menu below or the text field to filter your results: