2016 Honours are announced

-Posted on 04.03.2016

The Academy is pleased to announce the latest Honours awarded by the Royal Academy of Music and the University of London. The nominations below were ratified recently by the Academy’s Governing Body.  

The Academy welcomes nominations from former students, present and former professors, members of the music profession and the general public for these annual awards: see Honours for details.

Honorary Doctorate of the University of London (Hon Doc.)

The Academy, as a constituent college of the University of London, has the right to propose illustrious musicians to be awarded the degree of Doctor of Music honoris causa. The complete list of previous recipients is: the late Sir Colin Davis (2002), Sir Elton John (2002), the late Sir Charles Mackerras (2005), Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (2006), Daniel Barenboim (2010), the late Pierre Boulez (2010), Stephen Sondheim (2010), Sir Simon Rattle (2011), Sir George Martin (2011), Sir Mark Elder (2012), Gennady Rozhdestvensky (2013), Sir Thomas Allen (2014), Sir Ralph Kohn (2014) and Quincy Jones (2015).

György Pauk Violin
Ede Zathureczky Professor of Violin

Trevor Pinnock Conductor and Harpsichord
Principal Guest Conductor, Concert Orchestra


Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music (FRAM)

Limited to 300 former Academy students, and awarded to those musicians who have distinguished themselves within the profession.

Karel Chichon Conducting
Jo Cole Cello and Administration
Hadley Fraser Musical Theatre
Benjamin Grosvenor Piano
Diana Ketler Piano
Gwilym Simcock Jazz Piano
Adam Walker Flute

Honorary Fellow of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon FRAM)

Limited to 100 distinguished individuals who have rendered signal service to the institution or to the music profession in general.

John Burgess Royal Academy of Music Governor
David Whelton Orchestral Leadership

Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon RAM)

Limited to 300 distinguished musicians who did not attend the Academy.

Neresheim Abbey and Town Artistic Collaboration
Eric Aubier Trumpet
Florian Boesch Baritone
Joseph Calleja Tenor
Stephen Darlington Organist and Academic
Margaret Faultless Historical Performance
Dave Holland Jazz Bass
Tasmin Little Violin
Patrick Messina Clarinet

Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (ARAM)

Awarded to former students who have made a significant contribution to the music profession.

Robert Adediran Trumpet and Music Education
Kwabena Adjepong (Kwabs) Soul Singer
Robert Ames Viola
Robert Archibald Education
Mark Aspinall Musical Director
Graham Blevins Jazz Saxophone
Paul Booth Jazz Saxophone
Sasha Calin Oboe
Arturo Cardelus Piano and Composer
Katie Chatburn Composer
James Cheung Piano
Daniel Cohen Conductor
Gareth Coker Composer
Colin Coleman Music Antiquarian
Grace Davidson Soprano
Christopher Davies Horn  
Tom Deering Musical Director
Helena Dix Soprano
Claire Duff Baroque Violin
Philip Fisher Piano
Matthew Fishwick Jazz Drums
Matthew Fletcher Piano Accompaniment
Kevin Fountain Musical Theatre
Samuel Furness Tenor
Timothy Giles Jazz Drums
Erica Grajner De Sa Violin
Julian Gregory Tenor
Giles Harrison Timpani and Percussion
Antonis Hatzinikolaou Guitar
Cindy Ho Piano
Peter Holder Organ
Nicola Holland Oboe
Catherine Hopper Mezzo-Soprano
George Humphreys Baritone
Anthony Hunt Piano Accompaniment
Sam Hyken Trumpet
Ruth Jenkins-Róbertsson Soprano
Claire Jones Harp
Rita Kaufmann Piano Accompaniment
Ashok Klouda Cello
Matthew Knight Trombone
Judith Kubitz Conductor
Julia Kuhn Baroque Violin
Tom Lane Composer
Timothy Lawrence Tenor
Julian Leaper Violin
Martynas Levickis Accordion
Katie Lockhart Clarinet
Christian Ludwig Conductor
Eniko Magyar Viola
Cliff Masterson Composer
Jonathan McGovern Baritone
Hannah McLaughlin Baroque Oboe
Pedro Meireles Violin and Viola
Nadim Naaman Musical Theatre
Christopher Nicholson Guitar
Eamonn O’Dwyer Composer
Cecilia Osmond Soprano
Inci Ozdil Conductor
Sidika Ozdil Composer
Claire Parfitt Violin
Vanessa Perez Piano
George Petrou Conductor and Piano
Toby Purser Conductor
Ross Ramgobin Baritone
James Rattigan Horn
Jonathan Rees Baroque Cello
Jorge Renteria-Campos Natural Horn
Charles Rice Baritone
David Rowden Clarinet
Richard Saxel Piano Accompaniment
Emma Schied Oboe
Charlotte Scott Violin
Xiaotian Shi Composer
Ksenija Sidorova Accordion
Matthew Skelton Jazz Drums
Andrew Skidmore Baroque Cello
Hester Snell Cello
David Stevens Director of Music
Marius Stravinsky Violin and Conductor
Ruth Tatlow Scholarship
Steven Termini Piano
Janne Thomsen Flute
Callum Thorpe Bass
Luis Tinoco Composer
Susan Torke Flute
Philip Venables Composer
Elena Vorotko Piano
Sarah Watts Clarinet
Timothy Wells Cello
Daniel West Bass Trombone
Emily White Sackbut and Early Trombone
Youki Yamamoto Composer
Felix Yeung Director of Music
Song Lam Yiu Oboe

Honorary Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (Hon ARAM)

Awarded to those who have rendered signal service to the Academy, whether they have been professional musicians or not, and who have not studied at the Academy.

Ian Bonner Instrument Transportation
Nigel Brown Philanthropy
Jocelyn Bundy Stage Manager
Lesley Daniel Library
Björn Dobbelaere Musical Theatre
Marc Ernesti Professional Development
Anette Fajardo Luthier
Joshua Fisher Violin
Emiko Harimoto Piano
Tom Herbert Jazz Bass
Judith Moser Luthier
Timothy Murphy Opera Production
John Parricelli Jazz Guitar
David Piper Administration
Joanna Tapp Museum Curator
Con Webb Estates Support
Howard Williams Conductor


Search news articles

Please use the selection menu below or the text field to filter your results: