2015 Kathleen Ferrier Awards semi-finalists

-Posted on 09.03.2015

The semi-finalists for the 2015 Kathleen Ferrier Awards were announced this morning. Half the competitors are either current students at the Academy or recent alumni, continuing an exceptional run of success by Academy singers in this prestigious competition.  

Ed Ballard (baritone), Tereza Gevorgyan (soprano), Tristan Hambleton (bass baritone), Alice Privett (soprano) and Jenny Stafford (soprano) are amongst the 10 singers who will compete at Wigmore Hall on Wednesday 22nd April.

The Kathleen Ferrier Memorial Scholarship Fund’s Award is held at Wigmore Hall each April. The list of previous prize-winners features many Academy alumni – most recently including soprano Christina Gansch (2014 winner), baritone Gareth John Brynmor (2013 winner), soprano Ruth Jenkins (2012 second prize) and baritones Jonathan McGovern and Marcus Farnsworth (2011 second and song prize respectively).

Academy pianists have been similarly successful in recent years, with winners of the accompanists’ prize including Matthew Fletcher (2014), Craig White (2012) and Timothy End (2011) – and a total of nine Academy winners since 2001.

Commenting on the 2014 competition Rupert Christiansen wrote in The Daily Telegraph: ‘The 59th year will go down as a fine vintage. Six finalists all showed both promise and achievement which speaks well of our conservatoires (with the Royal Academy of Music definitely the front-runner at present).’

Last year’s winner, Academy alumna Christian Gansch, will give her winner’s recital on 31st May at St. John’s Smith Square.

Search news articles

Please use the selection menu below or the text field to filter your results: