The Bach Prize

The Royal Academy of Music Bach Prize, sponsored by the Kohn Foundation, is awarded annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the performance and/or scholarly study of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach.

The prize was established by the Kohn Foundation and is worth £10,000.

Previous winners, with the date of announcement, have been:

Professor Christoph Wolff


András Schiff


Sir John Eliot Gardiner


Peter Schreier


John Butt


Thomanerchor Leipzig


Masaaki Suzuki


Murray Perahia


Ton Koopman


Rachel Podger




Philippe Herreweghe