The Royal Academy of Music, Britain’s oldest conservatoire, was established by Royal Charter in 1830 (supplemental charter granted in 1998). The Academy is a registered charity, number 310007 and a company registered with Companies House, number RC000438.


HM The Queen


HRH The Duchess of Gloucester GCVO, Hon FRAM


Lord Burns GCB, Hon FRAM
Sir Elton John CBE, Hon RAM
David Josefowitz CBE, Hon FRAM
Sir David Lumsden MA, DPhil, Hon RAM, Hon FRCO

Honorary Trustee
Lord Armstrong of Ilminster 

The members of the Governing Body are:

Dame Jenny Abramsky DBE (Chairman from September 2014) 
Lady Sainsbury of Turville CBE, Hon FRAM (Deputy Chairman)
The Rt Hon Jonathan Sumption OBE, Hon FRAM (Deputy Chairman)

John Burgess
Robin Butler
Matthew Ferrey Hon FRAM
Lesley Garrett CBE, FRAM
Lady Suzanne Heywood
Professor Roger Parker Hon FRAM
Laurel Powers-Freeling Hon FRAM
Sir Martin Smith Hon FRAM
Professor Sir Richard Trainor FKC
Tony Travis Hon RAM
John Willan BMus, ARAM, FRSA, FCA

Elected Members of Governing Body
Patrick Russill MA, Hon RAM, Hon FRCO, Hon FGCM (Academic Staff Representative)
Liz Williams BMus, Hon ARAM (Administrative Staff Representative)
Murray Richmond (Student Union President)


Professor Jonathan Freeman-Attwood BMus, MPhil, Hon RAM, FKC, FRNCM 

Senior Management Team

Mark Racz BA, MFA, Hon FBC, Hon RAM Deputy Principal
Dr Timothy Jones MA, DPhil, LTCL, Hon RAM Deputy Principal (Programmes & Research)
Carol McCormack Hon ARAM Director of Development        
Judith Barber BSc, CPFA, Hon ARAM Director of Finance    


Royal Academy of Music Financial Statement for 2013–14: Download PDF

A list of charities which the Governing Body are trustees of can be found here.